Dasha Phal

What is Dasha System

Vimshottari Dasha assumes that the maximum duration of life of an individual human being is 120 years which is the aggregate duration of all nine planetary periods i.e. Ketu 7, Venus 20, Sun 6, Moon 10, Mars 7, Rahu 18, Jupiter 16, Saturn 19 and Mercury 17, in the order of their operation. It is not known when this system was discovered and why the number of years allotted to each varies.[4]:4 V.B.Rele concluded that in this system the trine is the base used in calculations of planetary periods, that each trine begins with a Janma Nakshatra, and that a certain order was once visible in the sky (which order was also visible in the year 649 A.D. When 0 Degrees of Aries sign very nearly coincided with Ashwini Nakshatra) the order in which the nine planetary periods or dashas operate. Hindus calculate their year on the basis of a Savan day of 60 ghatikas from sun-rise to next sun-rise, each ghatika is of 24 minutes duration, 30 Savan Days make one month and 360 Savan Days make one year.[2]{{rp>26, 27}} The year of the Vimshottari Dasha is the Savan year of 360 Savan Days.

The divisional longitude of each of the nakshatras beginning with Ashwini and ending with Revati is 13 degrees and 20 minutes further divided into four quarte.Each of the nine planets presides over a set of three nakshatras situated on the zodiac at a trine from each other. The commencig Dashasha mahadashasha at the time of birth will be that of the lord of the nakshatra in which the Moon is placed, which particular nakshatra is known as the “Janma nakshatra”. If the Moon is in Taurus in Mrigsira the first dasha will be of Mars, the second will be that of Rahu and so on. The distance already covered by the Moon in Mrigsira will be the portion of the dasha of Mars that has elapsed; the distance yet to be covered will represent the portion of the dasha of Mars that is yet to be experienced. The balance is calculated on the basis of the rule of three only in the case of the first mahadasha; the subsequet mahadashashas will have their full quota. The balance mahadasha at birth on the basis of the exact longitude of the Moon can be ascertained by using the ready reckoner provided in all Panchangas. The Antra-dashas or the sub-periods and the Prayantra-dashas of each planet is calculated on pro-rata basis in proportion of the years allotted to them in the 120 years cycle of Vimshottari dasha system.[4]:253 Saravali insists that the sign occupied by the Moon and the influences exercised on it by other planets through aspecet.etc; at the time of the commencement of mahadasa should be noted and examined, the same principle should also be applied to other mahadasa lords. If at the time of the commencement of the mahadasa its lord is in the lagna or beneficialfic or friend Vargas or in an upachyasthana from the the Birth ascendant or if the Moon occupies the friendly sign or exaltation sign of the lord of the mahadasa or is in an upachyasthana from the mahadasa lord and the mahadasa lord is in a trine from the Moon then the mahadasa will give exceptionally good results.[5] The order and times of the dashas or mahadashas are shown in the following table:

Graha Mahadasha Lord of Nakshatras
Ketu (south node) 7 Years Ashwini Magha Muladashapfal
Venus 20 Years Bharani Purva Phalguni(pubba) Purva Ashadha
Sun 6 Years Krittika Uttara Phalguni(uttara) Uttara Ashadha
Moon 10 Years Rohini Hasta Shravana
Mars 7 Years Mrigashirsha Chitra Dhanishtha
Rahu (north node) 18 Years Ardra Swati Shatabhishak
Jupiter 16 Years Punarvasu Vishakha Purva Bhadra
Saturn 19 Years Pushya Anuradha Uttara Bhadra
Mercury 17 Years Ashlesha Jyestha Revati